# Senate Standing Committees Terms of Reference

- 1. If a member of any one of the Senate Standing Committees is from a Department or Program directly or potentially involved in a proposal, application, or any other matter before that same committee, that member shall recuse herself/himself from the meeting or any other type of communication (including electronic) pertaining to that file, so as to neither participate in the deliberations nor issue any votes pertaining to that file.
- 2. In all Senate Standing Committees, the Chair shall only vote to break a tie.
- 3. Not more than one (1) academic member of a given committee may be from the same Department or Program.
- 4. Faculty members of the Senate Standing Committees serve for two-year staggered terms; students serve for one-year terms.
- 5. In addition to the Terms of Reference included in this document, individual committees may develop their own detailed procedures.

1.

The committee may also report in June, if a review is conducted of staffing levels in departments that exceed the quota of courses taught by part-time faculty, as per Article 5.01.6 of the 2013-2016 Full-time Collective Agreement.

# 4. Campus Planning Committee (CPC)

The Campus Planning Committee (CPC) evaluates the physical plant in relation to the academic functions of the University. It carries out its duties on its own initiative or in view of representations made to it by the Administration, the Senate, or by members of the University community. The CPC makes recommendations, as appropriate, to the Senate or the President, on faculty office allocations, physical maintenance, classroom space, and the space requirements of research chairs, research centers, institutes, and student work projects. The mandate of the CPC does not include making recommendations concerning administrative support staff, nor does it include the allocation of classrooms for teaching purposes.

Membership: Four (4) members of the academic staff and one (1) student.

Report: Twice annually in January and July.

# **5. Curriculum Committee (CC)**

The Curriculum Committee advises the Senate on new courses, on proposed changes to existing courses, and on descriptions of the curriculum proposed for publication. Proposals involving course number and course name changes require no Senate approval.

Membership: Three (3) members of the academic staff, one (1) student, one (1) representative

Report: When necessary and twice annually, in December and March.

## **6. External Review Coordinating Committee (ERCC)**

The ERCC coordinates the external review process and formulates, based upon the recommendations of the Review Team and the Department's response, recommendations for the Senate. The Committee shall conduct its work in accordance with the Policy on External Reviews.

Membership: Five (5) members, including the Dean of Social Sciences or the Dean of Humanities where applicable as Chair and four (4) members of the academic staff who are Chairs or Directors or have been Chairs or Directors of Departments or Programs which have been externally reviewed not less than two years prior. Members will serve for two-year terms. To facilitate the mentoring process, Chairs of Departments or Directors of Programs which will be reviewed in the following year may attend ERCC meetings as non-voting observers.

Report: As per the Policy on External Reviews.

## 7. Learning and Teaching Development Committee (LTDC)

The Learning and Teaching Development Committee reports to the Dean of Social Sciences or the Dean of Humanities where applicable and to the Senate. Its mandate is to further advance the quality of learning and teaching, fostering reflection on and discussion of teaching among the faculty at St. Thomas. The committee promotes and liaises with similar organizations and offices at other universities, recommending appropriate actions to Senate, the Dean of Social Sciences, or the Dean of Humanities where applicable.

Membership: Three (3) members of the academic staff, two (2) students, and the Learning and Teaching Development Officer as Chair.

Report: When necessary and annually in May.

#### 8. Research Committee (RC)

This committee makes recommendations to the Senate regarding the policies and regulations governing research. It allocates research funds for faculty after evaluating the merits of the research proposals received. In addition, it reviews requests for research grants in lieu of salary

Membership: The Vice-President (Academic & Research) as Chair (or designate), and six (6) members of the academic staff.

Report: Twice annually, May and December

## 9. Senate Nominating Committee (SNC)

The committee submits names to the Senate for all vacancies on Senate standing committees which are to be filled by Senate elections, including vacancies in the position of Chair of the committees. The committee makes nominations to Senate committees on the basis of the following criteria: the expression of an interest and willingness to serve on the part of nominees; balancing the need for continuity and renewal on committees; finding a gender balance; ensuring diverse representation from various academic disciplines; and ensuring all faculty members have an equal opportunity to provide university service.

Membership: Chaired by Vice-President (Academic & Research) where applicable, ex officio; one (1) member of the Senate and two (2) members of the academic staff. Elections to this committee are made by the Senate in March of each year.

Report: When necessary and once annually in May.

# 10. Student Academic Grievance Committee (SAGC)

In accordance with the Regulations of the St. Thomas University Calendar, the SAGC examines and decides the outcome of student grievances, including but not limited to the following matters:

- a) student appeals of decisions made regarding academic misconduct;
- b) student appeals of final grades; and